Pregnant Molly/shaking/unable To Swim?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

EvilCupcake

Reaction score
Hi there!

I'm new here but have a question, if any of you are able to help that'd be wonderful.

I've just exchanged a male dalmation molly to a female today (we had three females, one male, really didn't want lots of fry every month!) she appears to be pregnant but since being in the tank hasn't been able to swim upwards at all. When she tries to, she shakes and nearly goes onto her back, she just appears to not be able to do it!

Oddly enough, the other mollies seem to be doing the same? I've just seen the other dalmation molly try and swim upwards and basically shake like crazy. Along with a silver molly who's back has become very arched and does a 'wobbly swim'?

I'm pretty new to fish keeping, it's just slightly alarming to see and would just like to know if more so with the pregnant new molly that she isn't going to drop dead on me suddenly?

Thank you in advance :)

Welcome to our forum Cupcake.
You are describing a condition that is often seen in a molly that is asked to live in water that is too pure, meaning very few minerals.