Plesse help, tank size.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lucy202

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm a beginner to the fish keeping hobby and I have made two mistakes in the tank sizes for the fish I have therefore I have been experiencing some aggressive behaviour from the platies. I was hoping that the 58 litre tank would solve the issue, but it didn't. So I went on to buy 3 more platies as the male and female could have possibly paired off. The behaviour was still happening so I had to separate the two sunset platies into the smaller tank, and I added anthother female because I read that it wasn't ideal to keep two platies in a tank on their own but now the female is started to show this behaviour to the other female. So I'm just looking for some advice on what size tank would best suit six Platies, six Danios and a African Dawf frog.
Many thanks.
Lucy.

Danios are very active so need a much bigger tank than you would guess given their size. Have you already got the danios?
Can you describe the platies aggressive behaviour - it is possibly mating behaviour rather than aggression?
Seriouslyfish.com is a good resource for fish requirements.

Yea I've already got the danios. And the behaviours of the platies are clamped fin and fast chasing. Thank you for the website I'll have a read of it 😊

Dwarf frogs should really be kept in a frog-only tank. They find their food by smell, and by the time they find where it was, fish have eaten it. They have to be target fed somewhere fish can't get to. Frogs are also very sensitive to medication; should the fish ever become sick they can't be treated in the same a tank as frogs.