PLEASE HELP

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

PipValentine

Reaction score
I am at my absolute wits end. My fish won't stop dying and I'm so frustrated I'm literally crying.

I am new to fishkeeping--I've been at it for roughly 8 months. I have a 20 gallon community tank. Originally I had 11 cardinal tetra, 1 guppy, 1 platy, 1 albino bristlenose pleco, 2 rams and some shrimp in the tank. I added a Dwarf Gourami about a month ago. The tank was cycled--this tank was up and running smoothly for about 4 months.

Threeish weeks ago I noticed one of my tetra was growing fuzzy white tufts on his side (I'm thinking obviously secondary fungus infection). I euthanized him in a panic not knowing what it was. A day later, I noticed another tetra with a white spot--not fuzzy--but I kept an eye on it. The next day it started to become fuzzy. More fungus. Day four, another tetra dead and stuck to the filter--no apparent fungus.

BEFORE this outbreak my water parameters were fine. Readings of 0 for nitrates, nitrates, ammonia. Temp of about 78. PH of 7. I was doing about a 20% water change once a week.

After this started I figured my tests (which were still reading fine) must be faulty. I started daily 30% water changed. My electric blue ram began acting sluggish and losing color. I was keeping an eye on him and continuing water changes. The next day I couldn't find my 2nd ram for a while until I found her on her side--I spooked her and she pinwheeled in circles. One of her eyes had popeye and her abdomen/anal area was massively inflamed and red. I euthanized her and took my water in for a change yesterday. All water tested PERFECTLY fine. I was prescribed E.M Erythromycin and Prazipro and started treatment yesterday. Immediately after my gourami started tilting to the side and gasping for air. Today he's doing the same thing and the front of his body is turning black.