Please Help !!!!!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Ducati1983

Reaction score
Hello ,
New to the forum and I am looking for some help . I am new to fish keeping and have been trying to go about it the right way.
But I am having big problems keeping fish alive . I have done my research and know about the nitrogen cycle. My goal is a low tec planted tank with guppies and Corey cats . ( love those guys )
So here is my set-up :
•20 gal long
•Eco complete substrate
•One fake log ( medium size ) purchased from LFS
• one java fern and three Anubis
(Not planted in substrate but
tied to fake log)
• HOB filter (rated for 30 gal tank)
•100 watt heater
• in tank thermometer
• using seachem Prime as water conditioner
• api master freshwater test kit
I have fully cycled the tank using the fishless method. I used Ace hardware brand pure ammonia to start the cycle. I am able to turn 4ppm of ammonia to 0 in a 24 hr period . Also Nitrates are at zero ,
Nitrites are at >10 ppm . pH is 6.5-7.0 . This took aprox 8-10 weeks to achieve. ( along the way I did 3-4 water changes to keep the nitrates in check . ) The day before adding fish I did a big water change 80%-90% . Condition the water with prime in buckets before adding to tank following the directions on label .
Sounds like I am ready to add fish
right ?
Just to sum up Tanks levels are :
0 ppm ammonia
0 ppm nitrates
Less than 5 ppm of nitrites
ph 6.5 - 7.0
Purchased 2 guppies from LFS (pet co )
Let bag float in tank for 1 hr , added 1 cup of tank water to bag with fish . Waited 45 min , added another cup of tank water to bag .
Waited 45 min , then added fish to tank ( making sure not to get water from bag into tank )
Woke up this morning and guppies have red gills .
Where did I go wrong ??
Just to clear up the question I know will be asked levels of tank are :
0 ppm ammonia
0 ppm nitrates
5 ppm nitrites