Please help! Potential animal cruelty at local aqua pet store - what can I do?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SaraD1984

Reaction score
  1. Hi everyone! My name is Sara. I am very new to the world of aquariums. My boyfriend and I have just fallen in love with our aquatic family. Our beginner tank is a 30 gallon and we are already shopping for something bigger. We have 4 black mollies, X-ray tetra, a gorgeous Betta, pleco, and we just can't get enough of their beauty and antics. Our mollies are our mischievous babies! We just love seeing them happy and healthy. They have truly brought so much life into our home. We want to do whatever we can to keep them feeling safe and happy. We have lots of freshwater plants and boy do they grow fast!
  2. I really wanted to introduce myself as I have found that fish forums have incredibly helpful and friendly advice. I'm hoping I can find that today.
  3. So, I know I've just joined, but I am seeking some advice outside of my personal aquarium. I visited a local pet store (Beltway Aquarium,). When I left I was in tears. Can anyone help me? I've contacted the humane society, animal control, and finally DNR and I'm hoping something can be filed in the way of animal cruelty. I've also done some cursory research and I am finding conflicting info as far as what rights fish have in pet stores, what humane treatment they are required to have, sanitary conditions, quality of life, etc. I am not really finding much and I am hoping someone here can help or has had similar questions and maybe we can work together to discover this.