Platy Pregnancy Advice - Gestation Period?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

red_wagtail1

Reaction score
Hi guys, i'm new to this whole fish thing but i absolutely love it, i'm pretty much constantly glued to my aquarium, anyway, i have a red wagtail male platy, and a sunset male platy, two blue female platys and two black tuxedo female platys, anyway to cut a long story short i have seen one of my red wagtail platy engaging what i can only take to be mating with one of my blue female platys; i'm not at all adverse to babies however i feel totally out of my depth about a few things:

1). what colour will they come out as?
2) how many will there be?
3) how long are the female fish actually pregnant for
4) will the other female platys pose any threat to the new babies?

I've read the current threads about new fish babies and i'm preparing, i already have two tanks, my quarantine tank is about to double as a nursery, but please if you've got any answers, please let me know, cheers guys x x x

Hi welcome to the forums.

1) Not sure, since the parents are red and blue they babies could vary.
2) 30-40 I think. But If you leave them in your main tank some may get eaten. (Don't worry, this is normal)
3) about 28-32 days
4) Your females may, but its more likely that the males will. (Its a 'They're not my kids so I'll eat them' kind of attitude)

If you're not bothering with a separate tank, if you have plenty of plant cover, the majority of the babies should survive.

I hope this helps!

^ Spot on. Time from mating to delivery of fry is around 1 month. Livebearers can store sperm inside their bodies for a very long time, up to 8 pregnancies from one mating. It's possible that your male may not be the father of all the fry, and also that she may have mated previously and give birth sooner than a month from when you actually saw her mating as she may already be pregnant.