PH Reading of 8.

Runningpuffingbilly

Reaction score
Hi,

I've bought a test kit and tested my aquarium water last night. The reading was 8. I tried it again first thing this morning and it was still 8. Should I be worried about this? I have a large piece of bogwood in the tank and quite a few live plants.

Thanks

RPB

The substrate is gravel - approx. 3mm, smooth (it's labelled betta gravel). I am stocked with:

8 Zebra Danios
9 Neon tetras
6 Swordtails
6 Red Eye tetras
6 Guppies
2 Zebra Loaches
1 Clown Loach
3 Khuli Loaches
3 black spot barbs

I'm new to fish keeping ... :hyper:

So be forwarned ... BUT

I'd be more worried if the pH was dropping or increasing for some unknown reason ... the fact that you get a steady 8.0 is good news I would think ...

I've come accross different views on this issue ... :unsure:

One view states that most tropical fish can acclimate to a fairly wide range of pH 7.0 to 8.0 ... pH bounce ( rapid change ) is what causes the most stress .. Not a steady pH in the high or low pH range. I've read and been told that unless you are breeding fish then it is not critical to having the pH of the fishes native habitat. ( Thats a view I keep reading not my experience per say )

This makes sense to me but I don't know myself what fish are able to acclimate to :( ... so i guess I'll find out :fun: my tap water is pH = 7.8 and my local aquarium shop says this is fine even 8.0 as well... my tank is at a steady 8.0.

It should be easier to maintan a pH like that of your tap water ... this would allow a steady pH to be achieved with minamal effort.

Keep a log of your pH readings ...

Does anyone have some other ideas with this issue ???

Good Day ...

8 is fine.

The assumed theory is that if a fish is from an environment in the wild where the ph is a certain level, this is what they need. This just isn't true.