oxygen

Airli

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
im new to this and so im just trying to understand how this works. i have a ten gallon tank with fake plants. do all tanks need a pump? and what is supposed to be attached to the pump? just the tubing making bubbles or is it supposed to have something else on the end? and what exactly is an air stone, and how is it different?

would really appreciate some help with this, i know it sounds stupid...

Hi Airli

First of all no question is stupid for ..thats what this forum is all about ;)

Your tank will need a pump or filter (which has a pump in it) to circlulate the water around the tank. One option you could go for (all though its not my personal favorite) is undergravel filtration which would use your existing pump. This is a link that explains it.

http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/pfk/...p?article_id=70

Another option you could go for is an internal filter that consists of an electric pump, a sponge filter which is then housed in a canister. The canister has holes at the bottom or sides to draw water in along with the waste and debris, they go into the sponge filter. The filtered water is then blown out of the top circulating the water in the aquarium.

If you are going to keep tropical fish you will also need a heater.