Newbie Tank Status

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

platy83

Reaction score
hi I've had my 105L fish tank for three weeks now. I am new at this so I need advice on what steps to take next. I have 5 platys (one of which I think is pregnant but I can't see her gravid spot she is just really fat) and 2 bronze corys (about 7cm long) and 3 medium sized catfish don't know what kind it looks like a bristle nose but its not exactly the same skin color. I also have some Eichhornia crassipes. Anyway how am I doing in terms of space? What fish should I add or get more of (I thought more corys)? Is 3 too much catfish? I have noticed that they like to bite of the stems of my plants. Any type of advice is appreciated! Thanks!

hi I've had my 105L fish tank for three weeks now. I am new at this so I need advice on what steps to take next. I have 5 platys (one of which I think is pregnant but I can't see her gravid spot she is just really fat) and 2 bronze corys (about 7cm long) and 3 medium sized catfish don't know what kind it looks like a bristle nose but its not exactly the same skin color. I also have some Eichhornia crassipes. Anyway how am I doing in terms of space? What fish should I add or get more of (I thought more corys)? Is 3 too much catfish? I have noticed that they like to bite of the stems of my plants. Any type of advice is appreciated! Thanks!

It sounds like you've stocked your tank really quickly, did you fishless cycle or have you been cycling with fish? It sounds like you could do with slowing down to be honest, especially ifyou are cycling with fish. I've attached an article on stocking density which is quite useful.

http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/pfk/...?article_id=125

Are you doing regular water testing, if so, what are your current levels for Nitrate, Nitrite, and amonia?