Newbie tank setup!

colin_finlay

Reaction score
Hello, I am a fellow newbie to the fish world, I have had about 9 months of experience with fish and I would like to add some help to new users to help them have their tank running efficiantly to reduce fish loss in easy to understand terms.

So you've gone out and got a fish tank....Im going to assume you bought a filter, air pump or air stones and a heater. A good start is to fill your tank with water....plug your filter, air and heater in aswell and get that tank cranking! your filter will take out bad things in the water before your fish get to swim in your tank. Leave your tank in this condition for atleast 2 days or more.

This next step is crucial, when your going to buy your fish from your LFS (local fish store) make sure you are really specific in which size of tank you have and ask how many fish your tank can hold, remember fish get bigger and need room too! The first time you go to the fish store you will probably want 80percent of all the fish there. But unfortunitly it cannot be done. Your tank needs to be cycled before you can have all these fish. Experts say to get a goldfish or a betta to get this started but I like to go into the fish store and just getting 1 fish like a guppy something that doesnt like to eat algee that much and buy it. When your at the fish store pick up a small pack of tap water conditioner, this pack kills chlorine and other chemicals that can hurt your fish :(

Now also decide on getting some food. Ask your fish attendant what type of food your fish eats, usually its flake food. Flake food is great because alot of your fish will eat it without much complaining.