New To Freshwater Tropical Fish and Wanting Advice on Lighting

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

bozatron

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to keeping tropical freshwater fish and have recently purchased a 50L Blue Planet fish tank secondhand with 13 tertras, 3 guppys, a fighting fish, and a catfish. The tank was initially pretty dirty so I have given it a good clean and they all seem happy at the moment.

The tank came with some live plants (java moss, java fern, and another plant that I cannot identify). Currently, the light above the tank is the standard Blue Planet 11W AA11W-e27 globe that comes with the tank.

I am wondering if that is enough light to make sure the plants are healthy and growing, and was hoping to get your knowledgeable advice on an alternative bulb that I might be able to replace it with? In its current position, the tank is not really getting much daylight so any help would be great!

I have attached a photo of the tank in its current condition to this post.

Thanks!!

Attachments

• Fish tank.jpg
    Fish tank.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 112
Hi welcome to the forum :) Im not great on plants but is the one on the left Wysteria?

Just to check when you gave the tank a deep clean, did you clean out the filters and if so how did you do this?

At 50 litres your tank is 13 US gallons - a very rough guide and by no means is it a perfect method but if you look at an inch per gallon this means that you are probably slightly over stocked... Im particularly worried by the single catfish you have listed - is this a common plecostomus? Other than the catfish though I think with good weekly maintenance you should be fine with the rest of the fish :)

Wills

The plant on the right in the photo - is it planted in the gravel or attached to the wood? It is hard to tell from the photo.