New tank question

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

emg.

Reaction score
Hi, im new to this aquarium keeping hobbie. I have a 4 ft long by 2 feet wide and about 2.5 high. My tank houses 4 turtles and currently 8 fishes, 6 cichlids and 2 roseline sharks and 1 pleco all are still very small and juvenile. I know turtles and fish dont mix no need to remind me lol unfortunately i already had these turtles before i got the fish. My tank been running for about 2 months now, first 2 weeks had a small HOB filter with the turtles only, week 3 i got 5 cichlds and a canister uv filter. 1 big water change has been done once in which 3 of my cichlids died due to cold water and chlorine show did not know i had to prepare the water first and was alot of untreated water and cold that went in, 2 cichlids survived and are now a little bigger and like to play and swim alot. 5th week got the other fish. My parameters im unsure cause.i havent.bought a master test kit to monitor my water. All my cichlids are still small about 2in long. No plants and no sign of algae anywhere, im a bit concerned as to how i havent done my parameters check (i will buy a kit this week) and not.sure of ammonia levels but still no algae on my rocks or grass, substrate is sand and medium pebbles about 1 to 4 in round. Is my tank luckily having a healthy cycle for these past 2 months ? Only casualties were the water change. Since the other fish new additions all seem to be having a blast swimming and feeding turtles amd fish [emoji5]

Sent from my LM-Q710(FGN) using Tapatalk

I cannot remember what was mentioned in the older thread, but a couple things are problems waiting to happen here.

The turtles/fish you realize, and this must be resolved quickly. The disease issue in the other thread is quite possibly partly if not totally due to the turtles. I'll leave that as Colin has been helping you.