New Tank - Dying Fish

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

beccasaun84

Reaction score
Hi guys! I'm a newbie here, but in desperate need of some help. I'll fill out the form and go from there:

Tank size: 36 gallons
pH: 7.4
ammonia: .5 - 1 w/API test kit (treated with Nutrafin Cycle for 3 days- currently reading a 1 still- picture below)
nitrite: 0
nitrate: 0
kH: ?
gH: ?
tank temp: ? Just realized this morning that our thermometer was broken- have the tank heater set on medium, getting a new thermo today.

Fish Symptoms (include full description including lesion, color, location, fish behavior): Behavior is the biggest indicator. The fish will kind of float toward the bottom, nose down, then bounce off of it and the sides of the tank, and float back to the top, nose up. The dying fish don't seem to have control over their bodies anymore and spasm as they bounce around the tank. So far, 7 fish have died- 4 were just found floating, the other 3 showed the aforementioned symptoms. Also, all fish seem to be staying near the top of the tank.

Volume and Frequency of water changes: New tank, only about a week and a half old. One day spent with filter on, water treated, air bubbler on before introducing fish to the tank.

Chemical Additives or Media in your tank: Added Nutrafin Cycle at the recc. of the PetSmart employee to try and get ammonia down. Have also added Aquafin Water Conditioner and Clarifier previously.

Tank inhabitants: Currently: 2 - GLOfish, 1 - Molly, 1 - Platty.. DIED: 3 Cardinal Tetras (didn't realize how sensitive they were when we chose them), 3 fancy guppies, 1 Swordtail

Recent additions to your tank (living or decoration): What we had at start up- Sunken Ship and rock swim through as well as a small submarine, s shell, a castle, and a monster (I have two little ones under 5)

Exposure to chemicals: beyond what we added? None that I'm aware of.

Digital photo (include if possible): Attached