New Tank Cycling Question

Riggs

Reaction score
Hi All,

i'm completely new to this so please bear with me...

7 days ago I bought a new tank (Orca 450) with 6kg of live rock for it.
Everything seems to be going according to plan and I'm monitoring levels however in the last 2 days i've been seeing alot of brown algae start to cover the rocks and the live sand.
The lights are on 10hrs a day and it's not in direct sunlight.
I did notice a crab emerge after 4 days - he's v. shy (he hides under a rock) and i haven't seen him for a while so today i had a peek under incase he had died and i couldn't find anything - not even a shell - should i be concerned?
Levels wise I've got the following today.
Alk: 2.8
Ph: 7.8
NH3: 0.75
N03: 25
NO2: 0.5
Sal: 1.025
Will my cleanup crew take care of the algae?
Also, my temperature is at a constant 28C - i know that's a little high but the heater is working overtime possibly (as it's set to the lowest setting and switched off whilst the lights are on) or the ambient room temp. keeps it high?

Anyhow - thanks for any responses :)

Hi All,

i'm completely new to this so please bear with me...

:hi: to the salty side

7 days ago I bought a new tank (Orca 450) with 6kg of live rock for it.

Congratulations - a nice little tank

Everything seems to be going according to plan and I'm monitoring levels however in the last 2 days i've been seeing alot of brown algae start to cover the rocks and the live sand.

Diatoms, part of a normal cycle :kana: we all get them and yes your cuc will do a good job on them :good:

The lights are on 10hrs a day and it's not in direct sunlight.

Thats fine, I have my main lights on about the same amount of time with the moonlights on until bed time

I did notice a crab emerge after 4 days - he's v. shy (he hides under a rock) and i haven't seen him for a while so today i had a peek under incase he had died and i couldn't find anything - not even a shell - should i be concerned?