April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

librarygirl

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm very new to fishkeeping. Here's my story so far:

On March ~25, I set up a 5 gallon hex tank; treated water with Prime, has a filter, heater, bio wheel, substrate, light, fake plants and decoration. I let the tank sit for a week but didn't put food in there (didn't know I had to do this, PetSmart just said to set it up and let it run for 1 week)
On April 1, I went to Petsmart, had the water tested, they said all parameters were fine. Bought 3 GloFish which they said were hardy fish. One of the fish was chasing the others quite a lot, one began hiding more.
After a few days I did a water change (about 50% which I know now was probably too much), also the gravel cleaner I got was too complicated (had to shake it to get it to work which I couldn't) so I was rather clumsy in changing the water, lots of sloshing and movement.
The next morning one GloFish was dead (the one that was picked on the most and probably overly stressed)
I took it back to PetSmart and asked for advice. They suggested I get 2 more to even out the numbers, which I did. I had them test the water again then and again they said all levels were fine.

So my original fish have been in there for 2 weeks, the newer ones for 1 week. Four fish total.
All eating well, swimming well.

Purchaed a better siphon vacuum and water changes are less clumsy and more efficient now. Been doing small water changes daily. I also just purchased the API test kit, tested twice so far, most recent was last night. Nitrates/Nitrites both zero, ph was 7.6 on Friday, 6.4-7.2 yesterday (did two water changes yesterday which might be why, more on that below), ammonia holding at 0.25.