New Tank And Guppies Died

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

susan22

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi, i'm new to this hobby, i used to watch my dad with his tank though.

I bought a 48l tank and set it all up and left it a week, i then added 2 guppies, they have been fine for 3 days then this morning i found them dead in bottom of tank. I have ordered a tank water testing kit, but how long do i need to wait now before i add 2 new fish or do i just use the test kit to help me, thanks

hi Susan, welcome to the forum :)

The reason your fish died is because the tank has not been cycled yet. Basically the waste produced by the fish causes bacteria to grow in the filter. Its this bacteria that gives the fish a safe environment to live in.

If you have a read in this section, it will educate you about the cycling process, and how to do it
http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?showtopic=277264

Theres two ways, with fish, or without. Without fish is the easiest and kindest way to cycle, however it takes around a month to complete. With fish-in cycling, you will need to do regular water changes (roughly about 3-5 per day) until the bacteria has grown enough to handle the fish waste.

Hope that helps :)

thank you, i don't have any fish now tho so do i do a water change and buy 2 new fish or get some ammonia and do it that way

well at the end of the day it's upto you.

I went down the fish-less cycling route myself.

Theres no guarantee that those 2 fish you buy will survive, and like I said, expect to do multiple water changes on a daily basis until its cycled.

Where abouts do you live? There are members here that donate mature media (from their already-cycled tanks) to help out newbies such as yourself, but the donation will only compliment a cycle, not replace one.