Neocaridina playing dead?

Nells250

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
HI folks - I am new to shrimp and would like to know if they ever play dead??

This morning when I turned on the light for one of my plant-test-tanks, my one large blue shrimp was floating on its side on the surface of the water, motionless. I was disappointed because I always wanted a blue one, and would rather one of the low-quality culls die than that one.

So I took my trusty bamboo skewer to fish it out. And wadayaknow?? The thing darted away! It sure looked dead to me!

Then when I came home and took a peek to see how it was doing, every shrimp in there was darting around having a grand-old-time. For the last two days they all were barely active!

I obviously have a lot to learn about these little guys...

P1410562.jpg

Check the water quality for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH. If there is any ammonia or nitrite, or a nitrate above 20ppm, do a big water change.
Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it's added to the aquarium.

TURNING LIGHTS ON AND OFF
Stress from tank lights coming on when the room is dark can be an issue. Fish and shrimp don't have eyelids and don't tolerate going from complete dark to bright light (or vice versa) instantly.

In the morning open the curtains or turn the room light on at least 30 minutes (or more) before turning the tank light on. This will reduce the stress on the fish and they won't go from a dark tank to a bright tank instantly.

At night turn the room light on and then turn the tank light off. Wait at least 30 minutes (or more) before turning the room light out. This allows the fish to settle down for the night instead of going from a brightly lit tank to complete darkness instantly.

Try to have the lights on at the same time each day. Use a timer if possible.