My New Planted Tank Journal

Tropical_Noobie

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi all and welcome to my new planted tank journal. I am still quite new to fish keeping (Only a few months) and have decided to go for it and plant some real plants and ditch the silk one's.

I have listed my setup (Below) and would be greatfull of any advice or tips on how to get the best look etc. My Tank is situated in a serving hatch between my Kitchen and Front room so I am trying to get the best views from both rooms if possible ? I would still like to be able to see into each room via the Tank to keep an eye on my Grandson when he is about (He is only one year old and into everything lol)

Tank - Rekord 60 (60 litres)
Filter - Tetratec EX600 Filter
Powerhead - Aquaclear 20 (Co2 and Powerhead come on together)
Co2 setup - JBL PROFLORA M601 (I am using a glass diffuser + Glass bubble counter) This is set to 2 BPS
Co2 Drop Checker - Nice Green colour
Lights - 2 x 15 watt T8 power-Glo (18000 K) inwhich I have on for 8Hrs a day (14:00 - 22:00)
Substrate - Medium size Gravel 2" deep
Fertiliser - Tropica Plant Nutrition + I dose 6ml once a week
Plants - Anubias (I think) Not sure about the others (Please see pic below) I have ordered 25 random from ebay
Fish - 6 x Gold Tetra, 3 x Green Tiger Barbs, 4 x Tiger Barbs and 1 x Golden Sucker Loach & 1 x Red Crab.
I have been told that the Barbs will grow to big for my Tank ? So any surgestions on what fish I can replace these with would be great! ( The more colourfull the better)

b.jpg
d.jpg
c.jpg

I am sorry for the Poor quality Pic's (I am waiting for a Memory card converter to arrive)

Lol. you like taking on a challenge. It is quite hard to scape with a view to making both sides 'aesthetically pleasing'.