Molly with ripped fin, swimming sideways

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SophieLeigh

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to owning fish. I've had these fish for a little over three months now and this is the first time I'm noticing any problems. I have 2 black panda mollies, an albino bristlenose pleco, and a snail (I think it's a zebra nerite snail). A couple of days ago, I realized that one of my mollies had started swimming sideways at the bottom of the tank and swimming in circles. Upon looking closer last night, it occurred to me that the fin on his back is ripped. He seems to be trying very hard, but he's just lacking the balance to swim normally, and because of this, I'm not sure if he's been able to get the flakes that I feed them. The other fish (the other molly and the pleco) don't seem to bother him too much, they do nudge him every once in a while though as if they're trying to push him along.

So a couple questions: will his fin heal and will he ever be able to swim normally again?
How can I make sure he's getting food in the meantime if he's unable to get to the top of the tank?
I don't think the other fish are antagonising him, but should I separate him for a while anyways?

Thank you!

some additional info/corrections: they are actually gold panda mollies, it's a 10 gallon tank, and the ripped fin is almost entirely gone

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

How long has the tank been set up for?
How often do you do water changes and how much water do you change?
Do you gravel clean the substrate when you do a water change?

How often do you clean the filter and how do you clean it?

Have you checked the water quality for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH and GH?
If yes, what are the results in numbers?

Can you post a picture of the sick fish?

-------------------------