Molly has white fuzzy spot on its head

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Mads623

Reaction score
okay guys I'm kinda new to fish diseases but my molly fish recently had fry that are in my tank with her because I've just set up my new one but I've noticed a white fuzzy spot on her head and I am thinking it's either columnaris or a fungus and I'd love some help. I am posting pictures of her below. I'm hoping it can't be figured out so her babies are not harmed. Sorry if I posted it in the wrong thread.

Attachments

• IMG_0415.JPG
    IMG_0415.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 589
  • IMG_0418.JPG
    IMG_0418.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 596
  • IMG_0420.JPG
    IMG_0420.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 814
She does look rather ill (thin, slightly bent), quite apart from the fungus.

You will need to treat the fungus with a medication. How long has your tank been set up and is it cycled? Have you tested the water and/or done a large water change?

I would lean towards this being columnaris more than a fungal infection.

BUT... there is a way to treat both without too much trouble.

http://www.aquarium-pond-answers.com/2009/07/fish-baths.html

Columnaris is a bacterial infection, so its treatment would be very different from treating an fungus.
http://www.americanaquariumproducts.com/Columnaris.html#columnaris
Columnaris is a gram negative bacteria, so you'd need a antibiotic that deals with gram negative bacteria. The bad news is that our cycling bacteria are also gram negative so treatments to the tank will likely kill off your entire cycling bacteria colony as well. This is where having a QT really comes in as a must.

She does look rather ill (thin, slightly bent), quite apart from the fungus.

You will need to treat the fungus with a medication. How long has your tank been set up and is it cycled? Have you tested the water and/or done a large water change?