Molly and catfish

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Kerriemichael

Reaction score
Hi the im rather new to this started with a 25ltr tank and upgraded to a 280 ltr tank as my molly had fry (alot of them) now my catfish has had eggs only have 2 catfish thought they where both male oops. Think my tank is going to be over crowded wot can i do with them

how big (length x width x height) is the tank they are all in and how big are they?

What species of cat fish are they?

There bronze cory catfish and my tank is 280ltr 4foot long

Attachments

• 15307332152713933737131397523919.jpg
    15307332152713933737131397523919.jpg
    474.1 KB · Views: 140
Corys need to be in groups of 5 or (ideally) more. Since you have plenty of space for now I wouldn't worry about what to do with them if any survive (survival rate will be fairly low as eggs and fry make tasty snacks for fish). For what its worth Corys also need a sand substrate. I can't see clearly from the pic what you have.

Do you know your water parameters? Specifically hardness (GH and KH) and pH. If you don't have a test kit for these the info should be available on your water suppliers website. We will need the actual numbers as well as the units of measurements as there is no standard way of reporting these. The reason for the question is that Mollies require hard water while the Corys prefer it softer. I have water that is suitable for Mollies and my Corys will not spawn, despite my best efforts, because they recognise that conditions are not ideal. This is ok but my concern is that if your water is ideal for Corys your Mollys may end up being sickly and short lived. Obviously I don't know if this is the case but if you an post the numbers someone will be able to advise.