Lots Of Questions.... Region Specific Plants

MrsEspoNYC7

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
hi I am totally new at this plant thing except for the anacharis and marimo moss ball I have plopped in my tank,
View attachment 70747this is my setup now which I used to like but now looks kinda cheesy since I started seeing natural aquascapes.
I am totally redoing my tank and going with the natural look but now I think I want to try and do plants that are native to Barbados since
I have all guppies in my 27 gallon cube and I thought it would be nice for them to feel like they were back home.

I tried to look it up but it's somewhat confusing so could you guys help me if you know which plants grow there mainly.

also my next huge problem is I have no clue where to buy plants from my 2 lfs have a very terrible selection full of rotting and snail infested plants. I'm in the US and I see lots of folks from the UK here so anyone in the states that knows a good place please help.

any advice at all would help I know NOTHING about planted tanks

Hi MrsEspo,

I think what you are looking for is a South American biotope plant list.
Also, the plant choices will not only depend on the size of your tank but also on the lighting you can provide. Good plant substrate is also something to consider.
Amazon Swords (there are also dwarf varieties), Saggitaria and guppy grass are good options even for low lighting. Pennywort looks like would work also. If you have good lighting Stargrass would be really nice!

As to where you can get the plants from, have you considered online orders?