Is my betta ok?

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

TheLavenderBadger

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi guys! My betta, Musa, has not been acting like his usual self lately and since I'm no expert in identifying fish maladies I was wondering if anyone sees something obviously wrong with him.

He's in a 5-gallon densely planted tank with two amano shrimp and some assassin snails for company.
I feed him color flakes once a day.
I'm all out of water testing material so I can't give water parameters, sorry about that! But the plants are thriving.
I just did a 90% water change on his tank.

He's just been lying on the bottom all the time except for when I feed him.

Any ideas what (if anything) is wrong with him?

IMG_0628.jpg
IMG_0629.jpg

Thanks!

No idea but he's stunning 😍

What else do you feed him besides colour flakes?

How often do you normally do water changes and how much do you change?
Do you gravel clean the substrate when you do a water change?
Do you dechlorinate the new water before adding it to the tank?

What sort of filter is on the tank?
How often and how do you clean the filter?

-------------------

It could be malnutrition if the fish only gets flakes. Variety is the spice of life and that includes food. Also check the expiry date on the food and if the packet has been open for more than 6 months, get some new stuff. You want to use u new fish food within about 4 weeks of opening it. If you have a big container of food, put some into a small container to use and freeze the rest.

It could be old age or a dirty filter or dirty substrate.

-------------------

BASIC FIRST AID FOR FISH
Test the water for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH.

Wipe the inside of the glass down with a clean fish sponge. This removes the biofilm on the glass and the biofilm will contain lots of harmful bacteria, fungus, protozoans and various other microscopic life forms.