The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Casper23

Reaction score
Hi everyone! My name is Cassi, I am a stay at home mom and I am fairly new to this hobby, having only started this a few months ago. I did do LOTS of research before diving into this hobby and Iā€™m still learning which I love! I have a current set up of a 29 gallon Topfin tank. HOB filter and adjustable heater. with one Halfmoon male Betta. My daughter named him Dory. (Original I knowšŸ™„šŸ¤£) I have two nerite snails named Gary and Marty. I have two ghost shrimp named roselia and pikachu. Lastly I have 5 peppered cory catfish named, Khan, whiskers, pebble, Grogu, and Tom? Lol again my 4 year old daughter named everyone. The tank is heavily planted with various plants, we have some drift wood pieces and a lava rock as well as LOTS of tunnel type decor. We are working with a mixture of two different types of sand substrate. (The first type of sand came from Doryā€™s original tank that we had with just him) I wanted to try and maintain as much beneficial bacteria as possible so when we got the larger tank I added it to the new sand we had. I am currently trying to get my filtering as low maintenance as possible, obviously we started out with the HOB filter that came with the tank and I just want to move away from the disposal cartridges as quickly as possible. So I have added a sponge to the inner filter as well as ceramic bio rings and some filter floss pads. Once Iā€™ve had those in for a few weeks longer I will remove the disposable cartridge. (What a waste of money, and so horrible for the tank cycle) I also added a sponge to the intake of the filter as to add as much beneficial bacteria to my tank as possible. We recently added a very gentle airstone to the opposite side of the tank from the filter. I am using a battery operated air pump so that when/if we lose power, it can continue working. I am hoping to add some more life to my tank soon,