Impatient Partner

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

alien_pseudo

Reaction score
hi all,

im new to tropical fish, due to my eager other half

my partner decided to buy our daughter a tropical fish tank, she set it up and left it over night, then went and bought some fish, the day after, i wasnt impressed when i found out because we were told to leave it for a week to sort itself out before adding any fish.

i've also done some reading around, about bacteria needing to grow in the filter, adding fish a few at at time etc

shes been and bought and added to the new (day old) tank guppies x 4, neon tetras x 6, mollys x 2, sword tail x 1. plattys x 3 and loaches x 3, as far as im aware.

is this going to be a problem and are the fish going to remain healthy?

any help at this point would be most appreciated!!!

Woah!, thats wayyy too much for a not even cycled tank to handle, there will literally be no bacteria built up to deal with the fish waste, i suggest a water change every day. Expect losses...

If you still have time, I'd really recommended popping to the nearest pet shop to get a liquid based testing kit.

If you don't have the money for a full API Master test kit (bout £24), then an ammonia testing kit is the most useful one at the moment.

Long term that many fish will suffer as that is alot of fish to have during a fish-in cycling situation.

How big is the tank they are in?
The ammonia levels need to be kept under 0.25ppm to avoid lasting damage.
Also it really doesn't matter if your OH bought the fish 1 day after setting up or 1 week after setting it up.
Unless you planned to fishless cycle the tank with ammonia (takes 4-8weeks), then the tank would be no more prepared for fish after 1 week compared to 1 day.

Don't feel tempted to buy a 'bacteria in a bottle' product. These do not work.

1. Can the fish shop take them back, that's the urgent bit.

2. What size is the tank?

3. What filter do you have?