Ick or something else?

šŸ  May TOTM Voting is Live! šŸ 
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
šŸ† Click here to Vote! šŸ†

Eello

Reaction score
I have a 29 gal tank that recently got some kind of outbreak. I noticed it about 2-3 days ago and I immediately started ick treatment with coppersafe. It started as a couple spots on the tops of their dorsal fins and back. As of today, some of my cherry barbs (8 total) are looking better, but others (especially the males) are now completely covered. They're still eating well, and I turned the temp up to about 81-82Ā°F. I don't know what this is and I'm somewhat new to the hobby, so any help would be greatly appreciated. I added a picture of one of the males.

Attachments

• CBB6280F-7AA2-42BE-BC3A-4DB12AB70DA1.jpeg
    CBB6280F-7AA2-42BE-BC3A-4DB12AB70DA1.jpeg
    314.9 KB · Views: 29
It could be a thing called Epistylis. You can look that up and get images for comparison.

It could also be a serious outbreak of Ich. Coppersafe is a proven but harsh med. I would check option one, and since you have already dosed, follow the instructions to the letter. Ich doesn't die easily, and it's a tough creature. It can take some time to kill it.

Doesnā€™t look like Ich to me. Ich spots are all the same shape and size. Iā€™d go with epistylis, especially if the tank is low-flow. If it is epistylis itā€™s feeding on a bacterial infection on the fish. Treat it with a bactericide and the epistylis (a protozoan) will leave the fish.

I highly recommend reading this post written by a person who works on/studies fish parasites. It's long and detailed, but is amazingly informative for diagnosing ich vs epistylis.

I will give you a rough, short answer for your specific case, but I implore you to read the post I've linked, as it will have more, necessary information.