I love my platies

heidi

Reaction score
Hi I am new to the forum and I am a beginner. I have 2 Female platies, one of them is slightly bigger than the other. She love picking on the air bubbles from the plant. The small one is quite shy and now she is sick and keep hiding at the bottom of tank. Hope she can make it.

Attachments

• 20210512_182946.jpg
    20210512_182946.jpg
    117.3 KB · Views: 89
  • 20210512_183002.jpg
    20210512_183002.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 106
Welcome! Please tell us about your setup: Tank size, filter, decor, whether your tank is cycled. Maybe we can help you get your sick platy sorted out.

Welcome! Please tell us about your setup: Tank size, filter, decor, whether your tank is cycled. Maybe we can help you get your sick platy sorted out.
Thanks for your help. It is a new 20L tank, I am using Marina I25 filter. There is a lobelia cardinalis plant, sand substrate and a few gravels. The fishes arrive to this new home for about 1 month now from the shop, at the first 2 weeks they are fine, the small one is always less active but she fight back when the big one try to push her a side. I feed them with flakes. And then on the third week, i was away for a few days so i drop them a Tetra weekend stick. I make sure they do eat them before I go. Then when I back, the small one act abnormal. She struggle to swim, refuse to eat and always hiding.

I have tried Epsom salt dip for 2 days now, and i just feed them with cook spinach in case she has constipation. But she hasn't eaten any, whereas the big one enjoy any food as normal.

Her poop look transparent with occasional small white lump or green lump.

I am going to get an anti-bacterial treatment tomorrow. However, I was wondering will it do more damage if she was pregnant if i treat her with medicine?

I should really take the tank with me to travel, but i read a research that fish can get travel sick...

Reduce feeding to a couple of times a week for the next 2-3 weeks.