How much is too much water to change - end of cycle

Jabes

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a newbie fishkeeper. Well, no fish yet! I have been following the fishlabs fish-out cycle instructions (basically adding ammonia each day and waiting for the bacteria to form). Three weeks in and the ammonia is being converted overnight, and the nitrites too.
We have been checking daily with API liquid test kit.
We were about to buy our fish (tomorrow) but I have been suspicious of my low nitrates so bough a new test kit (NT labs), and it shows we actually have quite high nitrates - which is more in line with what I would have expected to be honest (we have done a couple of 20% water changes on the way through).
A quick google shows sometimes you have to really smash around the API bottle no. 2 to get the chemical properly in suspension - now I've done that it is now reading 80+ so obviously a few more water changes needed to get the water chemistry low enough for new fish.
If I do a 25% water change a few times with a few hours in between will my bacteria survive? Would really like to get the fish tomorrow, daughter has been waiting patiently for weeks

Hi,

I am a newbie fishkeeper. Well, no fish yet! I have been following the fishlabs fish-out cycle instructions (basically adding ammonia each day and waiting for the bacteria to form). Three weeks in and the ammonia is being converted overnight, and the nitrites too.
We have been checking daily with API liquid test kit.
We were about to buy our fish (tomorrow) but I have been suspicious of my low nitrates so bough a new test kit (NT labs), and it shows we actually have quite high nitrates - which is more in line with what I would have expected to be honest (we have done a couple of 20% water changes on the way through).