Help?!?!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

Kgarriott7

Reaction score
Iā€™m new to this forum. Just have a few questions as I am not a fish expert. I have a 10 gallon tank. Had it for about a year. Started off with about 6 fish. The only two that survived and are still living is the female Betta and a red tailed shark(rainbow shark). I have since then added 5 more fish(one pleco and 4 small goldfish). One of the goldfish have died and so has the sucker fish. My tank is so full of algae. A green hairy looking algae. I figured a sucker fish could help fix it. Guess not? Idk how to get rid of the algae...it is so thick u can barely see through the glass. And why are my fish constantly dying? Iā€™m assuming I need to test the water. So how do I go about doing that? Iā€™m not looking to drop hundreds of dollars on this tank. As I said before itā€™s a 10 gallon, has fake plants and decorations. I am using a bubbler for oxygen and it has a filter. Thanks for the help!

so many things wrong going on here......

a "sucker fish" is not the solution to algae....regular tank maintanance is....have you ever considered scrubbing the sides of the tank to remove the algae?

neither a betta or a rainbow shark belong in a community type tank which is what i believe you started off with,

neither a betta or a rainbow shark belong in the same tank as goldfish

you need to pick a direction and go that way.....when you don't know where you want to go, any road will take you there

I'm afraid to say that you have a lot of problems with this tank.

10 gallons is a small tank and it is suitable for a betta. On its own, no other fish. Bettas are not community fish and should be kept on their own. This applies to females as well as males.

Red tailed sharks need a much bigger tank. They grow to over 4 inches (10 cm) and need a tank with a base 120 x 45 cm (48 x 18 inches).