Help platty fish

Fushguy2023

Reaction score
Hi I have 5 platty fish and 2 off them today won't stop doing this I have also notice the sunset platty having a really black insides all other fish fine

Attachments

• 16817572518934449055428163877985.jpg
    16817572518934449055428163877985.jpg
    132.3 KB · Views: 313
Hi I have 5 platty fish and 2 off them today won't stop doing this I have also notice the sunset platty having a really black insides all other fish fine
It seems like they have red gills, this may be a sign that they are unwell.
Does the picture show them that they are trying to breathe at the surface? If this is happening often, they may not be getting enough oxygen.

What are your water parameters?

Can't check water parameters test kit was ment to turn up today taking a sample to the pet shop Tomorrow.. I am new to this tank is 3 weeks old stocked tank last week with 5 plattys.. don't seem to be opening or gasping for air just seem to float on top

They should be swimming around, as you cannot test the water, daily water changes of 50% should help and I would feed very little or none at all, your tank is new so there may be ammonia or nitrite, water changes will help.

Can't check water parameters test kit was ment to turn up today taking a sample to the pet shop Tomorrow.. I am new to this tank is 3 weeks old stocked tank last week with 5 plattys.. don't seem to be opening or gasping for air just seem to float on top
Did you cycle the tank before adding them?

Those platies are really skinny...