HELP! Made a HUGE OOPS!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

snwhawk

Reaction score
Ok I am a total newbie to the tropical fish thing and I really OOPSED! I have been wanting a fish tank forever and I received one for christmas - well anxious to get my tank going and watch the pretty little fishies swimming around - I of course immediately went out on Sunday to purchase fish for my tank. I explained at the LFS that we had just gotten it - they said it needed to run for a minimum of 24 hours with no further explanation so we said we would like to put a few in the tank anyway - we ended up getting 2 neons and 3 painted glass (then found out a few days later how they get there coloring and was totally ticked that I actually supported the practice of it buy purchasing them- anyway another topic another time) So after a few days the fish were doing great and everything looked well I decided to purchase more fish - 2 silver hatchet, 2 guppies, and 1 cory- again telling all information to the salesperson at the LFS and she told me I should have no problem HEH! RIGHT! I went to another LFS yesterday to ask a few simple maintenance questions and he inquired about the tank - how long it had been running etc.. he said come with me and have a seat we will talk fish - well I was there for an hour getting alot of useful info - however still with a major problem. I do know however that I will be using him and ONLY him as my LFS. I noticed when getting home that one of my painted glass has ICH - GRRRRRR I called the LFS who told me to get the temp on the tank up and go there today to get meds - however I am reading alot of contradicting advise on all sites I go to - should I medicate the water and kill and bacteria that maybe forming in the tank since I havent cycled? - or let ich take its course on my fish so I can cycle? My main question here is will I have any of these fish left after this is all over or will I have to start