Help! I Killed All My Fish

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

BarryWilson

Reaction score
If I have posted this in the wrong place, I apologize, but this is the closest topic to my problem I could find.

As long as I've been keeping fish (off and on for 40 years) I should have known better, but, alas even experienced hobbyists mess up sometimes.

My 15 gallon tall (10 gallon footprint) has been set up for a couple of years and all of my fish were about that old. I had allowed a good bit of algae to grow on the inside of my glass and decided to wipe it out. The old sponge I had been using for this job for many more than two years was getting old and worn out so I asked my wife to pick me up a sponge at the grocery store. She kindly brought me a package of 4 sponges and I took enough water out of the tank to make room for the displacement caused by my arm. I got the tank all nice and clean, added some fresh water, and went about my business.

A few hours later when I went to feed my fish, most of them (mostly ghost cats) were dead. Eventually I examined the package the sponge came in and the first clue I had messed up was the word "Lysol" on the package. On the back, in fine print, were the words, "Do not use in aquariums." It seems that these sponges were embedded with a chemical designed to prevent odor.

The next day I emptied MOST of the water out of the tank and put in fresh. I let it sit for a week and tested the water for Ph, nitrates, nitrites, etc. and it was all good (or so I thought). Then I changed the filter media and put a couple of platys in the tank and they seemed to be fine. A week later I repopulated the tank with 20 neon tetras and a tiny cory. All seemed to be well, but 4 days later the neons started dying. Today is the fifth day and there are only 2 neons and the cory still alive. Soooooo...