Hello !

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Griz

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Hi there,
I've been hanging around for a couple months now and figured it was time I introduced myself. Great site you have here! :clap: I'm just getting back into the hobby after many years. I have kept fish most of my life but that was a long time ago and before the internet. :hyper: The biggest tank I had back then was 15 gallons. My son has been using it for his various critters lately. :lol: Anyway, a friend gave me a 33 gallon tank I and am back into the hobby!!! Finally, the tank I wanted for all those years! After a ton of consideration, my setup is a planted tank (all easy to grow plants) with bogwood, some granite, and a sand substrate. I am filtering with peat in order to soften the water and give the fish a more natural environment, all of them are from soft, acidic, tannin stained waters. Many people seem to dislike the look of dark stained water but I love it. And I think that the fish appreciate it too. I have 1m/2f young cockatoo cichlids, 16 neons, 3 one-lined pencilfish 1m/2f, 6 otto cats and 4 false network corys. All the fish were purchased quite young and were added over the past 6 weeks or so. All is going very well, thanks to a lot of good advise, much of it from here. I'm so glad that I rediscovered the hobby and I'm really enjoying sharing it with my kids.

Cheers

Hi Griz, :hi: glad you're back in the hobby. :thumbs: I too like tannin stained water, especially with sensitive Amazonian fish. Enjoy it here! :D

:hi: to the forums.

Sounds like a nice tank you have there. What critters does your son keep in the old tank?

Jon

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone.

Nice to know I'm not alone in my love of peat stained water Aquamick :D