The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Shann

Reaction score
Hi
I have had a little fish tank up and running for about 8 months now-so am not a complete newbie...all is happy and Well all fish alive still-(I have read a lot of articles on here in that time) however my issue lies with my 180L tank. I bought this baby second hand and itā€™s had a few issues...

I have had this tank for a month now.
I transferred all the filter media etc wet, as well as a good 1/3 of the water got it home ASAP.

All looked well until I realised it had excessive (dreaded-which was unknown to me at the time) BBA throughout, on the plant, outside of filter media box and on the substrate. I took the substrate out of the tank, and dosed the tank with No More Black beard for two weeks which has killed the BBA (I felt I needed to do this as the BBA was floating around the water too)

When I got the tank it smelt fishy and the nitrates were off the charts, so I was doing regular 20% water changes which were not helping, so I washed the filter media out in old tank water.