Guppy problem!

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

liz

Reaction score
I have an established tank (5 months) of 56 ltrs, with a pH of 8, which I know is fairly alkaline, but have been told by certain fish merchants is fine unless I have particulary sensitive fish types or wish to breed. Therefore, since I am new to this I have left the pH as it is. The nitrate, nitrite and ammonia levels are all absoulutely fine, the temp is 26 degrees I have an internal filter fluval 1 which seems to work fine, and also an air stone for aeration. I have two silver sharks, 7 neon tetras and three platys, all of which are very healthy and peaceful living together. I recently (2 weeks ago) added to my population with two red lyretails, and a male and female guppy. Unfortunately, despite all necessary precautions, the male guppy died the following day or so, showing sympton of what I belive to be stress? Not eating, swimming at surface or sitting at the bottom with glamped fins. The other new arrivals settled in fine. The lyretails are still fine, but the female guppy, after two weeks of being absoulty healthy and very active suddenly disappeared! After a good look it was found hiding in one of the rock acessories. The following morning, it was found up at the surface gasping. It has not eaten, and it appears to be extremely bloated and it seems to swim with its tail down. not only this but its mouth does not look to healthy, it does not have white fluff like growths, but seems to keep it open as if it is swollen. I also seems to have a dark mass behind its swollen belly, which has got larger since I have had it. I am concerned obviously for the health of this fish, but perhaps more so of the health of my other fish which have all been so well since I have got them. I carry out partial water changes every month. I lost a collection of perfectly healthy fish last year due to an accident with the heater whilst on holiday (see newbie po