Green water!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

littlefishies

Reaction score
Please can anyone help me. I just can not get the tank water nice and clear. It has a greenish hue. It looks even worse when you look through the side. Also I have to change the filter pads weekly. Should I be changing them as often as this.
Please help.

Sounds like you ahve algea issues

what's the temp of the water, fish you keep and what kind of lighting do you have and for how long?

The temperature in my tank is kept around 76, light is an aquaglo 20w. Which I have on for about 12 hours as I have live plants. My fish are 3 tinfoil barbs, 2 bala sharks, three gouramis and a feathfin cat fish. They are only small right now in a 40 gal tank. I plan to get a larger one in time. I do regular water changes too. As you can tell I am very new to this.

if the tank has just been stup, it is possible you'rer having an algea bloom which should go away with water changes

you can try putting your lights on for 8-9 hours a day. your plants won't suffer from that

Thanks for the info. I have had my tank set up since about the end of February. I guess that is still classed as new, yes?

There are many things to factor into the equation when dealing with algae blooms. But remember if all else fails and you still have greenwater, like I did once (I was by a window actually but it was the only place I could fit it).....try barley straw.

http://www.fishpondinfo.com/barley.htm

HTH

David

littlefishies said:
Please can anyone help me. I just can not get the tank water nice and clear. It has a greenish hue. It looks even worse when you look through the side.
Also, what decor do you have in the tank (plants, substrate, bogwood etc)?

It may well be algae, as suggested, and you haven't really got a "clean up crew" in your tank to combat this

Also I have to change the filter pads weekly. Should I be changing them as often as this.