Gourami Swimming "tail Heavy"

timfromMK

Reaction score
Hi - I've got a couple of year-old three-spot gouramis along with a selection of other fish, all of which seem to get along just fine. However over the last couple of days, one of them has taking to swimming tail down and hiding in the plants. Can anybody help/advise me on what is happening here? I'm a relative novice having only had my tank for just over a year...

:/ it could be that you have a bully in the tank i would watch them 4 abit and see whats happening.
or it could be a infection of some kind :X

What other fish do you have in there and what sex are all the gouramies?
Not come across any of mine swimming tail down so not sure what the cause could be. :/ Is he able to correct it at all and can he reach the surface ok?
P.

No bullies that I know of, everything's OK in that department. As for sex, I'm sorry to admit, I don't know but both fish are identical in size, colour and features.... The fish is able to reach the surface and seems to feed OK, too and has no other visible signs of illness or injury.

Once again, we need more information. Most importantly, what size tank do you have, what are the water parameters and what other fish are in there (and how many of each)?

Fish swimming head down are usualy stressed due to environmental factors (eg: high ammonia levels). It is unusual, however, for a fish to swim 'tail-down'. My guess would be that the fish has been injured or has an external infection but either of these things should be visible. Do you think you could get a picture of the fish?

How long have you had this fish and the other gourami? I know you said they are a year old - but do you mean you've had them this long?