Gold Sailfin Platy

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

geb

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a newbie, both on this forum and in the field of tropical fish, so please bear with me in case I ask stupid questions.
I've set up my first aquarium (54 litres) and started up a week ago with a pair of gold sailfin platies (as they've been sold to me in the shop).

I find it difficult to get more info on this fish, as all my searches came across 'gold sailfin mollies', which seem to be much more common. I have to say that the pic I found online looks very similar to my fish, so I wonder if they are just one and same thing (i.e. 'gold sailfin platy' = 'gold sailfin molly').

I would be grateful if any of you could help me finding more info (including a pic) on gold sailfin platies. I am mainly interested in the optimum salinity of the water (at the moment I have just fresh water in my aquarium, but some articles about mollies seem to suggest to add some sea salt in) and compatible species that I could add in later on in order to have a well-balanced and still easy to maintain community tank. Of course, any other info or piece of advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and regards,
geb

I would say they are probably gold sailfin mollies whcih are very common in LPS. I have never seen a sailfin platy in a LPS. Normally you have to find a breeder online and I think they are normally called high fin platies.

hi geb
you will probably find that they are sailfin mollys, these pics may help.

HiFin Platy

Sailfin Molly

if they are mollys then they may benefit from slightly brackish conditions, however if you are wanting a mixed community tank you may be better to keep them in freshwater.

Hi,
thanks for your replies, it looks like they are gold sailfin mollies indeed.
I just came across a pic (and some more info, see below) that looks exactly like mine.