Full Stock After Fishless Cycle ?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

kirkster

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a week into my fishless cycle of my new 80G tank.
The guide mentions that the tank can be fully stocked to its capacity after the cycle completes. Has anyone done that?  IF I *don't* fully stock then are "snack" ammonia doses required in the absence of the full bio load?

Thanks, Steve

I think you'd be better trying a few fish first. I'd be very wary of dosing ammonia into a tank with fish though (although I'm no expert on this, putting what is the equivalent of bleach into a stocked tank sounds dangerous to me). Your bacteria should last a few days, I'd see how it goes and if all is well you can add the rest.

Yes, I have fully stocked tanks this way many times. This is one of the benefits of doing a fishless cycle. If one wants to stock gradually, they can do a fishless cycle using smaller amounts of ammonia since less bacteria is needed for this process. The less bacteria one needs the sooner one can reach those numbers. However, failing to take advantage of the full stocking usually means one is reverting to fish in cycling methodolgy as later fish are stocked. This means you may have to deal with some level of both ammonia or nitrite spikes

No, one should not add ammonia to a tank containing fish or inverts.

I have about ten tetras and a couple of clown loaches in an older tank that I am getting rid off after transferring the fish.  I'll move them into the new tank first.  Will I then be able to fully stock after a week or so of transferring the existing fish?  Will a small number of fish like that maintain the filter in the interim?
Thanks.