Flex fluval stocking q (apologies!)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Runnymeade

Reaction score
Hi guys newbie here,

Recently purchased a flex fluval 57l.

Modded by buying an additional fluval flex light bar aswell an interpet led bar, so doubled output + 2w from interpet bar.

Also added a mini internal filter with wool o in the third compartment (heater and pump compartment), so as to create stronger current into the back sponge compartment...

Stocking wise I'm thinking :

2 dwarf gourami (1 orange 1 gold/yellow)
1 cory
1 cherry barb
1 yellow molly

2 nerite snails

Your thoughts on potential problems with stocking would be really appreciated

Thank you !

83c7c3d19d9ca39ed7642720a2d1e57a.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Yes, there are a few issues. First, gouramis really should be kept in pairs. If the two that you have are males, they will always be aggressive toward each other.

Second, Cory catfish are shoaling fish, they need a group of at least seven individuals. I am not sure what Cory you got but some can get big. For example, the emerald Cory which gets up to three inches and still needs a shoal.

Third, cherry barbs are nippy and are also shoaling fish. Without 8 or more individuals your one barb may start nipping the gouramis fins.

Lastly, a mollys full size is larger than three inches. They also have a massive bio load that is hard to keep up with in a small tank. They need at least a 40 gallon tank.

I personally would return the fish to the store that you got them from. You can keep one gourami if you would like. After this it would be easier for us to suggest proper fish for this tank.

There are a few thing we need to know.

How big is the tank?
What is the ph?
What is the hardness?