🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

CV26

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Firstly, here are my tank stats...
- 6 Guppies (5f 1m)
- 6 Neon Tetras
- 4 Sterbai Cory

Ammonia 0, Nitrites 0, Nitrates 10-20, PH 7.6. 100l tank.

The problem...
Guppies added to tank just over a week ago...no QT period (newbie here learning by mistakes) and they seemed fine in the shop. Shop had good reviews online too.

Guppy 1 (f) started hanging at the top of the tank a few days ago and flashed a few times off a nearby plant. She didn't seem bother by food either.

Guppy 2 (m) also flashed a couple of times but was otherwise normal.

No external signs like white spot as far as I can see.

Flashing stopped for a day but then came back on Guppy 1, and no improvement on swimming behaviour or eating.

I decided after a lot of Googling that they most likely had internal parasites.

I contacted the LFS I got them from and they recommended Protozin. I couldn't get there though and went to a nearer LFS who gave me NT Labs Anti Parasite.

I dosed the tank on Monday evening. It's a one time dose.

Guppy 1 picked up pretty quickly at first. She swam around a lot more and even came for dinner at feeding time.

All of the guppies have hung around at the surface a little since putting in the meds but also seemed happy to mooch back off to deeper waters and they ate dinner as normal.

Throughout Tuesday though, Guppy 3 started flashing off the spray bar and hanging at the top a lot. I also spotted that she has a single tear in her tail...no other physical signs though.

This morning I found her against the filter grill with her fins to her body. She did move though so not gone yet! When I check again she had her fins out as normal and was mid tank.

I've set up my a spare tank just in case but am pondering what to do...

- Treat QT too and move guppy 3 into it alone.
- Move all guppies into QT and treat them in there, leaving the main tank meds to run their course for the tetras and Cory's just in case.