first tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

john connolly

Reaction score
I am new to fishkeeping and setting up my first tank , do I need to add bacteria or something ?

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

There are 2 ways to set up a new aquarium. You can either do a fish in cycle where you have a couple of fish in the tank while the filters develop colonies of good bacteria that help keep the water clean. You keep feeding down to 2-3 times per week and do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate 4-8 hours after feeding. And you do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate any day you have an ammonia or nitrite reading above 0.

The other option is a fishless cycle where you set the tank up and add a source of ammonia each day for several weeks. You monitor the ammonia levels and wait and wait. After about 4-6 weeks the filters will have developed the beneficial/ good bacteria needed to keep the water clean and you can then add fish.

Both types of cycling take the same length of time (about 4-6 weeks). The main difference is you do a lot of water changes when doing a fish in cycle compared to a fishless cycle. However, you do get to have a couple of fish in the tank while the filters are developing. In a fishless cycle you have a tank with water, filter, and ornaments but no fish until it has cycled.

Fish living in an aquarium during a fish in cycle can suffer physical damage if the ammonia and nitrite levels get too high (above 0.25ppm) so there is more chance of them dying. But some people do fish in cycles because they want something in the tank.

-------------------------
Liquid bacterial supplements are available from pet shops and can help speed the cycling process up. If you use them, I recommend adding a double dose every day for the first week. try to add the supplement near the filter intake so the bacteria gets drawn into the filter where it is going to live.