finished cycyling ?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

claireroe

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
How do I know when my tank is finished cycling ? I am really excited about getting some more fish and the local fish store said I could add some more this week but from what I've read on here i should wait another two weeks ! I'm new to this fish thing but i am addicted already ! my tank has been set up for nearly two weeks now , one week without fish and nearly a week with five fish all doing great . Can someone give me a straight answer ? :S

With only one week with fish... I can guarantee your tank isn't ready.

You need to get a water test kit, when ammonia and nitrite is 0, you're ready. And this can take around a month.

It took me 6-7 weeks to cycle a 25 gallon tank with fish, with me doing 10-15% daily water changes. You're not finished cycling until amonia and nitrite levels are 0 and you are showing nitrates. If you don't already have some, get tesing kits and begin testing every day.

I know it's soooo tempting to go out and buy more fish... but wait just a little bit longer..it'll be worth it!

good luck!

Hi..one added note...when your ammonia and nitrite drop to zero, and your nitrate begins to climb, that is when a good 25% water change is due. The accumulating nitrite may cause a significant rise in the nitrate. After that, the nitrate climbs slowly and is less toxic to the fish. Good luck. SH

claireroe said:
thanks , its obvious you can't trust people who work in fish stores already !
Hey! :blink: That's not nice i used to work in my LFS does that mean that i can't be trusted?

A decent LFS would be all about the fish and not about the profit and thankfully i had the plessure of working for madenheads aquatics and most fo the advice they give has been decent.