Female Betta Has Flaky Scales

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

MegE15

Reaction score
Hi,

So this is my first time asking any questions on here, so if I placed this thread in the wrong location, sorry.

Anyways, about a week and a half ago, I saw a female betta at the pet store (one of the big commercial ones), who was looking not so great. I purchased her because I wanted to help her, or at the very least, she wouldn't die in a small cup. Around her face, the scales were a different shade of white and they appear to be ever so slightly raised. It doesn't look fuzzy, so I don't think it's a fungal infection. The area around her gills also looks a little pinkish, as if the scales/skin is irritated. When I first got her, it sometimes looked like her spine was a little crooked, but it was so slight that I thought it might just be the way she was swimming and kept a close eye on it.Overall, her energy levels are good. She was always swimming around and seemed genuinely curious about her new home. I added some bettafix to the water and aquarium salt (I know there is always debate on adding aquarium salt to a bettas tank, but I have only had success when using it), hoping that would improve whatever was infecting her scales. I saw no improvement, but she also still seemed fine. She is eating and moving around just fine.