EGGS‼️‼️

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SaFyQ448

Reaction score
OK, so I'm new at fishkeeping. And my corycats got it on because I found eggs in the tank!!! I'd love to have babies catfish but I don't think I'm ready yet. I think I'm gonna let natural selection work it's way and leave them in the tank as is, but if they do hatch I really need help. I've got filters in my aquarium that are way too powerful I'm scared it'll suck them up. I need advice on how to care for them if they hatch. Food habitat, whatever.
There's a ton of waterflow and I have no idea what to do!!

Attachments

• 16910942559036122518628503292685.jpg
    16910942559036122518628503292685.jpg
    272.5 KB · Views: 54
  • 16910942685421912102605751893289.jpg
    16910942685421912102605751893289.jpg
    372.2 KB · Views: 24
  • 16910942805863923337355668740948.jpg
    16910942805863923337355668740948.jpg
    324.8 KB · Views: 25
I don't know about cory eggs and their care, but in all cases putting a foam or very find mesh bag over the filter intake can prevent the fry from being sucked up the filter. As a matter of course I like to use prefilters because they allow the fish another crack at finding the food before it gets sucked into the filter. Your filter then mostly provides the substrate for the nitrifying bacteria.

Your could probably setup a little tank with a sponge filter, so they wouldn't get sucked up.

I think at this stage you are best to let nature takes its course. You can however plan ahead, as once Corydoras spawn they will be spawning again and again.