Did I kill my baby guppies?

SusieJG

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have been raising guppies and platies for about 6 months and for the mosts part think I know what I'm doing (basically anyway), but I have a mystery and I'm afraid I may have made a big mistake. I hope I didn't because I'd feel horribly if I killed any of my sweet babies, but please someone tell me if I did.

I have a 40 gallon tank housing 5 adult guppies, 3 adult platies, 2 dwarf gouramis and one betta. Additionally there are a bunch of fry in the tank (10-20) including 8 wk old, 6 wk old and 2 wk old guppies, 4 wk old platties and 3 wk old mollies (its been busy in there!). The tank is VERY heavily planted and has a lot of very small ares for babies to hide in, so I generally feel secure allowing them to roam free. I keep the tank around 80 degrees at a high PH and add a handful of salt every couple of weeks. All my readings are completely in the normal range.