Curved back Guppy

Sammu89

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I need some advice regarding one of my guppies. Today, I noticed that one of my guppies had a curved back. I bought them about 3 weeks ago, and it's the first time I've encountered this issue, as I'm also new to keeping guppies.

After doing some research, I read that this could be a symptom of tuberculosis in fish, which is very concerning. Unfortunately, if that's the case, it seems that euthanasia is the only recommended solution to prevent the spread of the disease to other fish.

However, before making such a difficult decision, I'd like to seek the advice of more experienced individuals in fishkeeping. Has anyone else experienced this issue with their guppies before? Are there any measures I could take to help my fish recover, or should I really consider euthanasia?

It's worth mentioning that my other fish seem to be fine, and my water parameters are within the acceptable range.

Thanks in advance for your advice and support.

Best regards.

What is the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate in numbers?

What is the GH (general hardness), KH (carbonate hardness) and pH of your water supply?
This information can usually be obtained from your water supply company's website (Water Analysis Report) or by telephoning them. If they can't help you, take a glass full of tap water to the local pet shop and get them to test it for you. Write the results down (in numbers) when they do the tests. And ask them what the results are in (eg: ppm, dGH, or something else).

Is the fish still eating normally?
What does the fish's poop look like?
How long did it take to go like that?

A bit more information would be helpful as Colin has already stated as well.

Thank you for your responses. Initially, I filled the aquarium with tap water (which is extremely hard where I live), but I've since been conducting weekly water changes using only distilled water. Here are my current water parameters:

• NO2: Near zero
  • NO3: 18 mg/L