🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

vanalisa

Fish Aficionado
Tank of the Month 🏆
Reaction score
I have to read up on tank cycling.
I've never really done it before.
I guess I've been lucky?
(Except for the green neons, although I'm not sure that was a cycling issue).

Corny music aside, please don't laugh, I just don't know where I am with my 20g cycle
I'm not daft, but for some reason,
(denial, impatience, worry?), I can't seem to grasp what's going on. I've read the post on cycling. I have an API Master Testing Kit.

Okay:

Ph 7.8 - 8.0
Ammonia .25 - .50
Nitrite .25 - .50
Nitrate. 40 - 80
GH 180 or 8 - 10
I don't know what KH is

I've been testing for ammonia, and since it hasn't reached 0 I have just been waiting and, knowing that it's not safe for fish, I have not been testing for other things.
Since I've been watching the ammonia it has gone down. The ammonia was at a solid .50 at first and is lowering.

I have a new filter with a new cartridge.
I have a breeder box...suction cup kind
...filled with cartridges and foam from up and running tanks. I have been saving this material for a while in a breeder box in a running tank, just waiting for future tanks.

I have a heater appropriate for a 20g.
I have some live plants
I put a small pinch of flake food every day for the last few days.

I lost my colour chart but had one printed and laminated. This is why I am unsure of some of the readings.

What now?
20200413_160520.jpg

I think I read somewhere about carbon.
I happen to have a couple replacement carbon sacks for my aquariums.
Every now and then I give a couple of my tanks new carbon. It's a treat. A tank treat.
Should I put one into the 20g ?

I am hoping to get some responses soon.
I have some plants in there but not too many. I hate to remove very much of my Anacharis and Hornwort because I believe it helps my fish feel safe.

I dont think adding the carbon would help but I could be wrong. How long have you been cycling it?

Carbon won't do anything for the cycle.