Cycling for a first timer

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

James Turner

Reaction score
Hi all,

Firstly, this is my first post so I apologise if I'm posting this in the wrong section!

I'm new to keeping fish, and I'm currently cycling my tank without fish. When I say cycling, I mean I've set the tank up and switched the filter on. It's been on for a day and I intend to leave for another couple of days before I add in the fish... Unless I'm told otherwise in here.

I've read a lot on this forum about cycling but I haven't found what I need... Basic advice on the steps of cycling from the beginning, and what things I would need to buy. At the moment the only things I have are the tank, the filter and some ornaments and fake plants. I'd be very grateful for some dumbed down advice on how to cycle to someone who is completely new.

At the moment my tank water has turned milky cloudy after 24 of being left with just the filters running. I read this could be a bacteria bloom?
Also, I haven't put any gravel or sand down as I think it will be easier to clean.

I'm very open to any advice on how to proceed, and if I'm doing it all wrong please do tell me, I want my fish to be healthy from the start.

Thank you!
James.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Cycling an aquarium generally means getting beneficial filter bacteria to grow in the filters before fish are added to the aquarium. This usually takes about 4-5 weeks and entails adding something that produces ammonia. You can use a bit of fish food, raw fish or prawn, or you can buy liquid ammonia and add a small amount of that. Some pet shops sell bottle of liquid ammonia designed for cycling marine aquariums and this is ideal. Or you can look for ammonia at a supermarket or hardware store and use that. If you get ammonia from a hardware or supermarket, make sure it doesn't have anything added to the ammonia, you just want a plain old boring liquid ammonia.