Cycle Stuck In Nitrite Stage

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

jesnon

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to fish keeping and have been doing a fishless cycle for 8 weeks now on my 23l fluval edge but my tank still seems to be struggling to build up nitrite eating bacteria and it's starting to drive me slightly mad! I've been cycling at 30*c, my Ph is 8.2 and hasn't moved since the beginning of the cycle and I have very hard water. I thought I was almost there with my cycle a couple of weeks ago after my nitrites being off the scale for a long period of time nitrites were finally dropping to 0ppm, but suddenly nitrites reappeared again and it seemed like my nitrite eaters had mysteriously died off. 

Over the past week my tank has gone back to processing nitrites from small amounts of ammonia, but I've upped my dose of ammonia and now my nitrites have gone back off the scale. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, it just seems to be taking much longer than it should be?

My ammonia is quite weak, it takes around 2.2ml to get to a dose of 4ppm ammonia. I was dosing 0.5ml ammonia and my tank was processing it to 0 ammonia and nitrites within 24 hours.

Last night I dosed 1ml ammonia and this morning (12 hours later) my readings are:

Ammonia 0ppm
Nitrite 5+ppm
Nitrate between 40 - 80ppm

Any advice!?

I personally would try to achieve an ammonia level of no more than 2.0ppm. Have you done any water changes? I'm currently cycling a 40L tank and added mature media, my nitrites have been stuck at 5.0ppm+ for several weeks which is strange considering I added mature media from my main tank and the ammonia started to reduce pretty rapidly. I did a water change on day 13 and another one yesterday on day 25 (an 80% water change) and my nitrites are coming down at last, hopefully this trend will continue.